Rosemary Lemonade and Meyer Limoncello

I have been hoping to make limoncello for a while, but between moving and starting school, it got forgotten. I was inspired by two of my good buddies back in Iowa, Liz and Jacob, who make incredible infused vodkas and liqueurs. Finally I remembered it the other day when I saw some delicious Meyer lemons in the store. For those who haven’t used Meyer lemons before, they still have a lemony tang, but are less bitey and more sweet. You can tell them apart from other lemons because their skin is more orange. I love using them in baked goods, and they’re one of my favorites for beverages.
I have been looking at limocello recipes for a while, and most involve infusing the vodka and then adding a simple syrup (sugar melted in water). Since that’s what I’m most familiar with, that’s what I’ve gone with. BUT, this time around I’m thinking of trying rosemarried’s Crema di Limoncello: the steps are the same, except the simple syrup is replaced by a sweetened milk that’s flavored with vanilla. I made the lemonade alongside the limoncello so that all those tasty lemons wouldn’t go to waste!

6 large Meyer lemons
1 large yellow lemon
1-2 sprigs rosemary
2 cups vodka
2 cups filtered water
1 cup sugar
pinch salt
1 1/4 c sugar

For the Limoncello

-peel the zest from all the lemons using a vegetable peeler.
-Place zest from 5 Meyer lemons and a few strands of zest from the yellow lemon in a container with a sealing lid (i.e. Ball jar).
-Add vodka to container until it covers .
-Seal the lid and label the container with the date—it will be ready to drink after a week or two, but the longer you let it sit the more lemony and delicious it will be! (If you want to follow rosemarried’s recipe along with me, you would omit the last step here and instead look at her recipe.)
-In a saucepan, combine sugar and a pinch of salt with 1-2 cups water (depending on how strong you want your limoncello to be). Heat until just dissolved and add to the infused vodka.

For the Lemonade

-Add remaining zest from 1 Meyer lemon and the rest of the yello lemon to a pitcher.
-Squeeze juice from all 7 lemons into the pitcher.
-Using the back of a knife, tap the rosemary along the stem to release oils.
-Add rosemary, water, salt, and sugar, to a pan and slowly bring to a simmer over medium-low heat, stirring occasionally.
-Heat for 5-10 minutes.
-Pour over lemon zest and juice and let sit at room temperature for 1-2 hours (longer for a more lemon-y flavor).
-Fill a glass halfway with lemonade mixture, and add sparkling or still water to taste.

You can also find this recipe on Punk Domestics!

Rosemary Lemonade and Meyer Limoncello on Punk Domestics
5 responses

  1. I make limoncello on a regular basis, and I often use the leftover juice for lemonade. In the summer I make basil lemonade and lavender lemonade, but I haven’t tried rosemary. Thanks for the idea. Since I have a Meyer lemon tree in my back yard, I occasionally use the lemons for limoncello, though I find that they are a bit too mild and not lemony enough for my taste. I like your idea of including a regular (Eureka) lemon in the mix. I think I’ll try making it half Meyers and half Eurekas. Like rosemarried’s recipe, I use Everclear instead of vodka. It’s much more like the limoncello you get in Italy. Thanks for the recipes.

    • That’s awesome you have a Meyer tree-I hope to get one soon too. I’ll have to try it with Everclear next time-I usually have vodka around so often just make it with that for convenience!

  2. Pingback: Pumpkincello | A Bloggable Feast

Leave a Reply

