Blueberry Lavender Jam

Anyone who’s known me for more than 6 months knows that I have an unhealthy obsession with lavender. I put it in just about every food I can, in part because it’s so very versatile and goes with so many things (as long as you don’t overdo it–then everything tastes like perfume!) I like it with fruits in particular because it helps brighten the floral undertones I find in most fruits. My blueberry bush is done for the season (I just picked up a friend for it at my new favorite place, Just Fruits and Exotics) so I had to buy blueberries to make this batch, which will probably be my last one of the year. If you’re in a pinch, you can make it with frozen blueberries, but it will taste *so* much better if you can hold off until they’re in season. The jam tastes amazing with some goat cheese and melba toast, or even just spread on a warm slice of bread. Yum.

2 pints blueberries
1 c sugar
2 c water
1 tbsp lavender
pinch sea salt

One of my blueberry bushes

-Combine all the ingredients in a saucepan.
-Heat over medium heat until the mixture comes to a boil.
-Simmer, stirring occasionally, until it’s the consistency you want (20-30 minutes is usually good for me).
-Allow to cool and spoon into jars. At this point you can either process it in a hot water bath to seal it or you can just keep it in the fridge.

This recipe is on Punk Domestics!

Blueberry Lavender Jam on Punk Domestics
2 responses

Leave a Reply

