Lavender Caramels

Welcome to the first post on my food blog! I’ll admit, I’ve felt a bit sheepish when I’ve posted comments about the food I’ve made and the response has been ‘you should put that in a blog!’ Enough people are curious about what I’m up to in the kitchen that I’ve decided to actually start said blog and share some of my favorites (“enough” here means 4 or 5 people, so not rockstar status. Yet.)

I’m starting with a recipe that never fails to get compliments–it’s my new stand-by for bringing to parties because it travels well, is light, doesn’t require reheating/refrigeration and tastes delicious. I started out with a basic caramel recipe that was lurking in an old Betty Crocker cookbook, then adapted it by swapping out some of the ingredients (like corn syrup) for others (like honey) that I enjoy using more and that bring some extra flavor to the party. I love cooking with lavender, so I usually stick with it, but these are also good with rosemary or citrus zest. They’re great for experimenting!

-pinch of salt

-1 cup sugar

-1/4 cup stick butter

-1 cup heavy cream

-1/4 cup plus 2 tbsp honey

-1 tbsp lavender flowers

  1. Grease 2 loaf pans with butter, set aside.
  2. Place ingredients in a skillet with high sides.
  3. Heat over medium, stirring constantly with a wooden spoon.
  4. After mixture has thickened, test it for doneness by dropping a little bit into very cold water. If it holds its shape when pulled out of the water and until pressed, it is done.
  5. Immediately pour the caramel into pans and let cool.
  6. After the caramel has cooled, cut it into bite-sized squares or rectangles. At this point you can either leave them unwrapped if they’re to be eaten right away, or cut up some wax paper or parchment paper and wrap them. I usually do this to prevent sticking and because this recipe makes a ton of caramels, so wrapping them makes them easier to carry with me and give away!
6 responses

  1. Hi Julia, These sound great and I’m going to try them. I see that you also make spiced peach caramels. I have some peach puree in my freezer that I need to use up. Can you tell me how you made the peach caramels?

    • I’m excited you’re going to try the lavender caramels! The peach caramels didn’t turn out very well: I think the amount of peach I put it was enough to keep them from setting properly. They were fine flavor-wise, just really gooey and didn’t hold their shape. If I figure out how to make them set better I’ll let you know!

Leave a Reply

