Nutella Tart

This tart is ridiculously easy and requires very few ingredients. Best of all, it’s absolutely delicious.

I have made tart/pie crusts a number of different ways. I know most people use the method where you cut cold, cubed fat into flour, and for years that’s what I did. Then last year I learned a new (and in my opinion, easier) method when I was working on my culinary history project. Basically it involves melting the butter and then incorporating the other ingredients rather than incorporating the cold butter into other ingredients. The pie I made using this method was incredible: the crust was flaky and rich, and was almost foolproof to prepare. Best of all, it’s the way pie crusts used to be made hundreds of years ago, which made me feel like I was connecting with the past through food (I like to do that). When I ran across this post recently, it reminded me of the success I had with the hot butter method and inspired me to create something new.

Either crust recipe will work fine, the first one I used (originally found here) requires egg yolks to be beaten in the flour before a well is made and the hot butter is poured in. This crust is wonderful and flaky. The other crust recipe is equally wonderful, although just slightly more dense. Either would work well, although for this particular tart I used the second recipe since I didn’t have eggs.I spread my crust out on a cookie sheet, but you can also make it closer to the original by putting it in a pan with high sides.

To make the tart, just make the crust and bake it until it begins to turn golden (the recipe calls for 410, I think my oven was actually closer to 400). Remove the crust and allow it to cool. Then all you do it top it with a goodly amount of Nutella and some chopped, toasted hazelnuts (I toast mine in a cast iron pan on the stove). Enjoy!

2 responses

  1. You and the Nutella… I toasted hazelnuts yesterday for yummy porridge but have never done it before. Should all of the skin come off easily when they are sufficiently toasted? I didn’t want to torch them so I’m pretty sure the majority were more tanned than roasted.

    • It’s true, I have an unhealthy obsession! It’s a good question–I’m usually less worried about the skin coming off (although most of it does) than on toasting them to the point that they smell like toasted nuts. That’s why I toast them on the stove–that way I can monitor them more closely and stick my nose over the pan to sniff them. I’m sure tanned hazelnuts are tasty as well!

Leave a Reply

