Chocolate and Grapefruit Mousse

Chocolate mousse with various add-ins has been a staple for me for some time. It’s easy to make, can be made ahead, and tastes pretty great. I started adding grapefruit after my grandma sent me a box of them a few years ago, and I did the same for our New Year’s dinner this year after picking some grapefruit from grandma’s tree. We ate it all up before I got a picture, but trust me, it’s delicious!

The zest of one grapefruit
1/2 pint whipping cream
2 tbsp half and half
2 ounces of dark or bittersweet chocolate (I used 2 squares of Baker’s chocolate)
pinch salt

-Whip the heavy cream until stiff peaks form. Set aside.

-Make a double boiler by boiling several inches of water in a saucepan and topping with a glass or metal bowl.

-Add chocolate to the bowl, stirring frequently. After it first begins to melt, add half and half and a pinch of salt. Continue stirring until chocolate is melted and smooth. Stir in citrus zest.

-Carefully fold chocolate mixture into the whipped cream.

-Place the mousse into dessert dishes and chill for at least one hour.

Leave a Reply

