Valentine’s Day+Sick Day=Cake

Chris and I normally aren’t huge Valentine’s Day folks–we might get each other a little gift, and use the occasion as an excuse to cook a nice dinner or go out to eat, but I at least would rather do things to show Chris I care about him the rest of the year. That being said, today I have been craving cake. I’ve had a cold since yesterday night, and maybe it’s the fact that I’ve been wandering around in a feverish fog this morning, but I got it into my head that a great gift for Chris would be the gift of a cake, which would also help address my chocolate craving.
I was indeed right, further proof of my theory that food is the best gift.
I am too sick to spend much time fussing over building a new cake recipe, so I just pulled one from a cookbook (hence why there isn’t a cake recipe typed below). To make it extra special, I replaced the water in the batter with strong coffee and topped it with chocolate chips before baking. I also baked it in a greased casserole so it’s tall-ish. But that’s all I did differently! Just find a chocolate cake recipe you like, adapt it with the coffee and chips (if you want to), and put it in the oven.
The toppings were the place where I did anything remotely innovative, and represent my attempt to eat some antioxidants while eating my cake (ha!). All I did was make a simple orange glaze like my mom used to make for cakes, and top it with pomegranate seeds. It’s a great way to make a cake look impressive when you’re short on time (or not feeling all that great!)

Chocolate cake with pomegranate and orange
Your favorite chocolate cake recipe
zest of 1 orange
1 c powdered sugar
pinch salt
1-2 tsp milk
seeds from 1 pomegranate

-Prepare cake according to directions (replace liquid with coffee and add chocolate chips, if desired)
-While it bakes, combine sugar, salt, and zest in a bowl. Whisk in milk until it reaches desired consistency.
-After the cake cools, turn in over onto a serving platter. Drizzle with glaze and pile the seeds in the center.
-Serve!

Leave a Reply

