Candied Violets

When I was a kid, my mom and I would candy violets every spring. We would eat them by themselves or use them as decorations (they are cute on cakes). I started some seeds a while back and just harvested a tiny handful of violets, so I decided I would candy them! Here’s how to do it:

Candied Violets
1 egg white
sugar
violets (washed and completely dried)

-Sprinkle a layer of sugar on a plate.
-(Very) carefully paint the egg white on the flowers (I usually just do the fronts, if you’re brave you do the backs too). I use my finger for this because it gives me the most control, but you could use a small paint brush too.
-Set the flower painted side down in the sugar, making sure all the painted surfaces are covered.
-Let the flowers dry.
-That’s it!

 

Leave a Reply

